Past Prize Winners

Videodrunk presents several prizes. The King Videor, named for famed director King Vidor, is award for best overall production and the Evangeline Canadiana Prize, named for the first Canadian film, goes to the best Canadian production. The prizes cannot be shared by a film.

The Wooden Spoon is awarded to the film the scored the lowest accepted judge’s score. It is awarded with filmmaker approval.

King Videor
2014: ‘Nile Perch’ by Joshua Gibson (Uganda)
2015: ‘Collinsville Trade Day, 1988’ by Jason and Charles Keener (USA)
2016: ‘Less Would Do’ by Louis Brousseau (Canada)
2017: ‘Full Waveform Inversion’ by David Nast Cole (USA)
2018: ‘Entropia’ by Marinah Janello (USA)
2019: ‘Pate’ by Matthew Emery (USA)
2020: ‘Cold Blooded’ by Kidd Tommy (USA)
2021: ‘Home Movie’ by Tal Alperstein (Israel)

Evangeline Canadiana Prize
2014: ‘The Dentist’ by Jonathon Hunter
2015: ‘Craig, the Loneliest Man in the World, Makes a Friend, Loses a Friend and Subsequently Learns the Value of Solitude’ by Ted Stenson
2016: ‘McDavid’ by Conor McNally
2017: ‘Poor Man’s Evil Dead’ by Kristine Kleist, Kevin Buessecker and Zach Bryson
2018: ‘Night Terrier’ by Neil Krowly and Adam Singer
2019: ‘NOVA’ by Andréanne Germain
2020: ‘When You Are Wild’ by Greg Hemmings
2021: ‘The Phone Interview’ by Kassy Gascho and Melissa Jones

Special Mention for Individual Achievement
2014: Myles Cranford for his performance in ‘Carolina Parakeet’
2017: Austen Payne for animiation on ‘One Hell of a Party’
2020: Heather Heinrichs for her work as actor, writer, and director on ‘The Clog’

Wooden Spoon
2016: ‘teleVision Quest’ by Terry Cover (USA)
2017: ‘The Power’ by Jacob Smith (USA)
2018: Not Awarded
2019: ‘Spurlock.’ by Vincent Masson (Canada) and ‘Crypto’ by Charles A Townsend (USA)
2020: Not Awarded
2021: Not Awarded

Micro Film Prize
2019: ‘He and Me’ by Michele Kaye (Canada)
2020: Not Awarded

Feature Film Prize
2020: ‘Sleeze Lake: Vanlife at its Lowest & Best’ by Andrew J. Morgan and Nick Nummerdor (USA)
2021: ‘For Roger’ by Aaron Bartuska (USA)

Pop Film Prize
2020: ‘Betty June Gloom’ (USA) by Autumn Perrotta and ‘Ninja Badass’ (USA) by Ryan Harrison

Videodrunk Regulars Prize for Outstanding Contribution to the Festival
2020: Virgil Widrich and Gabrielle Lenhard
2021: Art on Fire

%d bloggers like this: